January 9, 2013

Sound Bites: Atoms for Peace, David Bowie and Low

Atoms for Peace's "Judge Jury and Executioner"

Thom Yorke's solo-project-turned-supergroup Atoms for Peace makes their official debut as a band on February 26th when Amok is released on XL Recordings. Since branding themselves back in 2010 before that year's Coachella, the collective -- featuring longtime Radiohead producer and occasional sixth man Nigel Godrich, the Red Hot Chili Peppers' Flea, Joey Waronker and Mauro Refosco -- has managed to tidy impatient listeners over with one-off singles like the recent "Default." Now they can rest easy knowing Amok has an official lead single in "Judge Jury and Executioner," a dubbed out listen that doesn't stray too far away from everything Yorke and company have handed us thus far. The single itself will see a 12" vinyl release with the B-side "S.A.D" on March 19th. Expect to see Atoms for Peace's name somewhere up top on the impending Coachella 2013 lineup as well.

David Bowie's "Where Are We Now?"

Yesterday was the 66th birthday of David Bowie, and to mark the occasion, the Thin White Duke decided to get out of bed and announce his return with his first album in a decade. The Next Day is the glam rock god's 30th LP overall, arriving on March 12th here in the United States through Columbia Records with its lead single "Where Are We Now?" available as AS types. Now, I wasn't fortunate enough to grow up during Bowie's iconic Ziggy Stardust days, and if memory serves correct, his legacy had been relegated to that of touring with alternative adult contemporary artists like Moby and Annie Lennox while not enjoying as much fever pitch excitement as this release is seeing. Do you see where I'm getting at here? If not, let Fucked Up's Damian Abraham and further enlighten my point.

Low's "Just Make It Stop"

Reluctant embracers of the slowcore pioneer title, Low, are preparing to release their 10th album to date when their Jeff Tweedy-produced effort The Invisible Way officially finds itself inside speakers on Marth 13th via Sub Pop. A couple of weeks back, AwkwardSound deconstructed the LP's first listen within the small-spaced soft harmonies of "Plastic Cup," but now we are being introduced to its official lead single, "Just Make It Stop." Equally cozy in timbre, this track glides slightly above the ground thanks to Mimi Parker's effervescent vocals. The band has also announced a string of tour dates in support of The Invisible Way that heads out in the spring.

No comments:

Post a Comment