July 2, 2013

Sound Bites: All Pigs Must Die, Defeater and OFF!

All Pigs Must Die's "Silencer"

With most of the support behind last year's phenomenal career capstone from Converge, All We Love We Leave Behind, drummer Ben Koller is reconvening with grinding Baystate supergroup All Pigs Must Die (which also features the Hope Conspiracy's Kevin Baker and Bloodhorses' Adam Wentworth and Matt Woods) for a new album. Nothing Violates This Nature is the equally heavy offshoot's sophomore effort following 2011's God Is War, and it will be released sometime later this summer through Southern Lord. Its first listen, "Silencer," was debuted on Pitchfork, and provides enough gut checks and vocal cord shredding to keep the next few months fully amped and loaded with adrenaline (it'll also see its own release as a 7" / shirt package alongside the B-side "Sacred Nothing" on July 17th through Shirts and Destroy.) In other Converge-related news, frontman Jacob Bannon has announced he'll be spending his non-Converge duties with his artwork by taking part in the 2013 Edition of the Street Diamonds Art Show at the Fourthwall Project in Boston.

All Pigs Must Die - "Silencer" (via Pitchfork)

Defeater's "No Shame"

Letters Home, the anticipated third full-length from Bostonian thrashers Defeater, will be arriving on July 16th via hometown hardcore label Bridge Nine Records, but before it hits the streets, the punk quartet are offering up one last preview single to go along with early listens in the high octane rush “Bastards“ and progressively melodic “Rabbit Foot.” “No Shame” follows suit with the latter, but with a heavier weight pressing down on its riffs. In support of Letters Home, Defeater are one of the few talented artists embarking on this year's parents-get-in-for-free Warped Tour.

Defeater - "No Shame"

OFF!'s "Black Thoughts (Live at 9:30 Club)"

Another hardcore supergroup in the seasoned vets OFF!, which features ex-Black Flag / Circle Jerks / current FLAG frontman Keith Morris, will also be releasing a new effort this summer, but it'll be one that attempts to capture all of the energy and rage that is their live show when Live at 9:30 Club arrives on August 6th through Outer Battery Records. Recorded at the landmark Washington D.C. venue, the limited vinyl-only LP will include 20 tracks produced under the guidance of Massachusetts' "it"-producer Justin Pizzoferrato (who helmed the latest from Speedy Ortiz, Dinosaur Jr. and has surprisingly worked with someone outside of the Baystate for once here!) Famed punk rock artmaker Raymond Pettibon -- who has been responsible for all of OFF!'s artwork to date as well as the iconic Black Flag logo -- will again provide the cover, which won't be unveiled until the LP's street date. For a first listen, head over to SPIN who premiered the live rendition of the First Four EPs cut "Black Thoughts"...

OFF! - "Black Thoughts (Live at 9:30 Club") (via SPIN)

No comments:

Post a Comment