June 18, 2011

Hear New Sound: Wild Flag's "Romance"

After months of anticipation, the wait is finally over for hearing the first proper release materialize by indie rock supergroup, Wild Flag. The Portland / NYC-based quartet, featuring Sleater-Kinney's Carrie Brownstein and Janet Weiss alongside Helium's Mary Timony and The Minders' Rebecca Cole debuted "Romance" earlier today on WFMU's Cherry Blossom Clinic. It's the lead single off their upcoming self-titled debut, due out September 13th on Merge Records. Listeners familiar with any of the work by arguably the indie scene's most talented all-female rock band trailblazers should be satisfied as to how seamless and natural they've merged together their influence. Don't let the title deceive you -- This definitely is not some sweet, sugary girl group we're dealing with here...

Wild Flag - "Romance"

No comments:

Post a Comment